Paths to agility

With the help of agile principles, agile organizations and teams define what they consider to be the most important action maxims for all participants. They are the guardrails for the use of agile practices and methods. The practices are used to enable or promote the implementation of agile principles in the context of individual activities such as a meeting (for example, so-called daily stand-ups). Agile methods combine various agile practices into a framework that supports the execution of entire processes or projects according to agile principles. From our experience, these principles are very well suited to create an initial agile map and to promote dialog about the “optimal path to agility”.

So if you want to find a path towards more agility, you would do well to first clarify your development needs. The schema of the American sociologist Talcott Parsons helps here. In the 1950s, he identified four functions that a social system such as a company must fulfill in order to sustain its existence. Surprisingly, Parsons called his model of the functions that ensure existence the “AGIL scheme”:

  • Adaptation = Adaptability
  • Goal Attainment = achievement of goals
  • Integration = creating cohesion
  • Latency = constant maintenance and renewal (induction) of values.

The exciting thing about this schema is that it uses questions to guide us to our development potentials and relates them to the agile principles. With the help of this AGIL schema, the relevance of agile principles for one’s own company can be determined and thus ways to more agility can be found.

Adaptation (adaptability)

Which principles guide our actions today? Which of them reduce our adaptability to developments in our environment?
Which agile principles should we replace them with in order to increase our adaptability?

Goal Attainment

Which principles that guide our actions today prevent us from achieving our goals in the best possible way?
Which agile principles should we replace them with in order to increase our level of goal achievement?

Integration (cohesion)

What principles that guide our actions today prevent us from achieving adequate cohesion / optimal collaboration?
What agile or alternative principles would better promote our cohesion / collaboration?

Latency (induction of values)

What level of renewal of our fundamental structures and value patterns would be required to achieve what we consider to be an appropriate level of agility?
What agile principles could we implement without breaking down our fundamental value patterns too much?

By answering these questions for their company or area, executives develop theses about which agile principles are relevant in their case. This is an important basis for getting started and anchoring selected agile principles more firmly in the company.

Wege in die Agilität

Mithilfe von agilen Prinzipien legen agil agierende Organisationen und Teams die aus ihrer Sicht wichtigsten Handlungsmaximen für alle Beteiligten fest. Sie sind die Leitplanken für den Einsatz von agilen Praktiken und Methoden. Die Praktiken werden eingesetzt, um die Umsetzung agiler Prinzipien im Rahmen einzelner Aktivitäten wie zum Beispiel eines Meetings zu ermöglichen bzw. zu fördern (zum Beispiel sog. Daily Stand-ups). Agile Methoden vereinen verschiedene agile Praktiken zu einem Framework, das die Durchführung ganzer Prozesse oder Projekte nach agilen Prinzipien unterstützt. Aus unserer Erfahrung eignen sich diese Prinzipien sehr gut, um eine erste agile Landkarte zu erstellen und den Dialog über den «optimalen Weg in die Agilität» zu fördern.

Wer also einen Weg hin zu mehr Agilität finden möchte, tut sich gut daran, zunächst seinen Entwicklungsbedarf zu klären. Hierbei hilft das Schema des amerikanischen Soziologen Talcott Parsons. Er hat in den 1950iger-Jahren vier Funktionen benannt, die ein soziales System wie ein Unternehmen erfüllen muss, um seine Existenz dauerhaft zu erhalten. Überraschenderweise hat Parsons sein Modell der existenzsichernden Funktionen «AGIL-Schema» genannt:

  • Adaption = Anpassungsfähigkeit
  • Goal Attainment = Zielerreichung
  • Integration = Zusammenhalt schaffen
  • Latency = ständige Aufrechterhaltung und Erneuerung (Induktion) von Werten.

Das spannende an diesem Schema ist, dass es uns durch Fragen an unsere Entwicklungspotentiale heranführt und diese in Beziehung zu den agilen Prinzipien setzt. Mit Hilfe dieses AGIL-Schemas kann die Relevanz agiler Prinzipien für das eigene Unternehmen bestimmt und so Wege zu mehr Agilität gefunden werden.

Adaption (Anpassungsfähigkeit)

  • Welche Prinzipien leiten unser Handeln heute? Welche davon mindern unsere Anpassungsfähigkeit an Entwicklungen in unserem Umfeld?
  • Durch welche agilen Prinzipien sollten wir diese ersetzen, um unsere Anpassungsfähigkeit zu steigern?

Goal Attainment (Zielerreichung)

  • Welche Prinzipien, die heute unser Handeln leiten, hindern uns an einer bestmöglichen Zielerreichung?
  • Durch welche agilen Prinzipien sollten wir diese ersetzen, um unseren Zielerreichungsgrad zu steigern?

Integration (Zusammenhalt)

  • Welche Prinzipien, die heute unser Handeln leiten, hindern uns an einem angemessenen Zusammenhalt / an einer optimalen Zusammenarbeit?
  • Welche agilen oder alternativen Prinzipien würden unseren Zusammenhalt / unsere Zusammenarbeit besser fördern?

Latency (Induktion von Werten)

  • Welches Mass an Erneuerung unserer grundlegenden Strukturen und Wertmuster wäre erforderlich, um ein aus unserer Sicht angemessenes Niveau der Agilität zu erreichen?
  • Welche agilen Prinzipien könnten wir implementieren, ohne unsere grundlegenden Wertmuster zu stark aufzubrechen?

Indem Führungskräfte diese Fragen für ihr Unternehmen oder ihren Bereich beantworten, entwickeln sie Thesen, welche agilen Prinzipien in ihrem Fall relevant sind. Dies ist eine wichtige Basis, um sich auf den Weg zu machen und ausgewählte agile Prinzipien stärker im Unternehmen zu verankern.